Sunday 5th of July 2020

Follow Us

Breaking News

All 9 Council candidates elected unopposed in Bihar

 Patna, June 29: All the nine candidates for nine vacant seats of the Bihar Legislative Council have been declared elected unopposed. Today was the date for the withdrawal of the papers. Since only nine candidates were there in the fray they were handed over the certificate of the winning the election by the Election commission. The election was due from the assembly constituency.


Those declared elected are Ghulam Ghaus, Bhishm Sahni and Kumud Verma (all JD-U), Sanjay Mayukh and Samrat Chaudhary (both BJP), Farooq Sheikh, Sunil Kumar Singh and Rambali Singh (all RJD) and Samir Kumar Singh of Congress.


The candidate of the Congress was in discussion from the very beginning. First the party announced name of former Union minister and parliamentarian Tariq Anwar but changed the name on the last day of nomination. It was said that Anwar was not  voter of Bihar but of Delhi and in this case only the nominee who was voter of Bihar was required. Anwar was replaced by Samir Singh but it was found that there were many anomalies in his nomination papers on which JD(U) representative and Bihar minister Shrawan Kumar raised objection during scrutiny of papers. The matter was referred to the observer of the Election Commission. But later on the Commission found his papers in order.


With this election, the RJD and Congress gained four seats altogether while JD(U) lost three and BJP one seat. The RJD has been able to make its tally in the Upper House to six since the party suffered a loss after its five MLC quit the party and joined JD(U) last week. But the RJD will still not be in a position to stake claim of main opposition party and leader of opposition status for Rabri Devi as eight members are required to get this status.  

Related Politics News

PM Modi congratulates Prez Trump, people of U.S. on their 244th Independence Day

 New Delhi:Prime Minister Narendra Modi today congratulated US President Donald Trump and the people of the United States of America on their 244th Independence Day. In a tweet Mr Modi said, as the world's largest democracies, India and the US cherish freedom and human enterprise that this day ....

BJP South Kolkata District President resigns

 Kolkata, July 4 (HS)  The newly appointed South Kolkata district President of BJP Somnath Banerjee today resigned from the party post following  the alleged leveling of some serious charges against him by a former party worker.   According to BJP sources here this afternoon, Ba....

Congress protests against hike in fuel prices in Jammu

 Jammu, July 4 :-- Jammu and Kashmir Congress Chief, GA Mir held a strong protest against the central government over hike in fuel prices. Mir stated that week-long protest throughout the country was as an attempt "to awaken the government to the hardships of the people". The continuo....

Don't ignore Ladakh people's warnings: Congress

New Delhi, 04 July:-- In a sequel attack on BJP following India-China standoff, Congress on Saturday once against hit out at BJP led Central government saying that the people of Ladakh were echoing against Chinese encroachment and it could  cost the Country dearly if the government ignored them....

BJP leader Sambit Patra lashes out at P. Chidambaram

New Delhi, July 4:-- The BJP spokesperson Sambit Patra on Saturday lambasted the congress Rajya Sabha MP, and former Finance Minister P Chidambaram saying, “It is not necessary to take names in every situation.”       In a tweet, BJP leader Sambit Patra said, “Dear C....

Editor :
Jagadananda Pradhan
Email :
Mob :(+91) 9337933340
Ph : (+91)0764295999
Contact Us
© 2020 Fast Mail Media Pvt Ltd. All Rights Reserved.
Developed by : FM Media Pvt Ltd.