Friday 8th of December 2023

Follow Us

Breaking News

Pierre Agostini, Ferenc Krausz and Anne L'Huillier win Nobel Prize in Physics

 Nobel Prize 2023: The Royal Swedish Academy, this year has announced Pierre Agostini, Ferenc Cruz and Anne L. Huillier this year’s Nobel Prize in Physics. This award was given for experimental methods that generate attosecond pulses of light to study electron mobility in materials. Pierre Agostini, Ferenc Krausz and Anne L'Huillier have pioneered a technique to generate incredibly brief pulses of light, enabling the observation of lightning-fast electron movements and energy changes that were previously mysterious.

Pierre Agostini's pioneering work involved the production and investigation of continuous light pulses, with each pulse lasting just 250 attoseconds. This achievement has opened the door to observations of electron dynamics on unprecedented temporal scales.



 In parallel Ferenc Krausz developed a specific experimental approach that allows to isolate single light pulses extending up to 650 attoseconds. This breakthrough facilitates precise studies of fast electron processes.

Anne L'Huillier made an unprecedented discovery when she transmitted infrared laser light through a noble gas, revealing the emergence of different light tones. These overtones, produced by the interaction between laser light and gas atoms, have provided invaluable insight into electron energy emissions. Collectively, the work of Agostini, Krausz, and L'Huillier has ushered in a new era of scientific exploration. Their creation of ultra-short light pulses has enabled scientists to take snapshots of the incredibly fast motion of electrons, shedding light on previously hidden phenomena.

Furthermore, L'Huillier's discovery of unique effects arising from the interaction of laser light with gas atoms, combined with the innovations of Agostini and Crosz, has pushed the limits of achievable light pulse duration, allowing exploration of the microscopic world. There has been a revolution in our ability to apply. The 2023 Nobel Prize in Physics recognizes the extraordinary contributions of Pierre Agostini, Ferenc Krausz and Anne L'Huillier.

Related World News

Gaza death toll from Israeli attacks touches 17,177

 GAZA STRIP: The Palestinian death toll from the ongoing Israeli attacks on the Gaza Strip has touched to 17,177 since Oct.7,according to the Health Ministry in Gaza. According to reports,around 70% of the victims are children and women. About 46,000 other people were injured in the Israeli ons....

2 killed, 4 wounded in Russian school shooting

 MOSCOW: Two people were killed, and four others wounded in a shooting at a school in the Russian city of Bryansk on Thursday, the RIA reported, citing local authorities.  The incident occurred at gymnasium no. 5 in the Bezhitskiy region, with preliminary information suggesting that an eig....

Texas man who killed parents, four others arrested in U.S.

 HOUSTON: A suspect was arrested and charged with capital murder of his parents and four other people in the U.S. state of Texas, authorities said Wednesday.  Shane James Jr., aged 34, is suspected of fatally shooting his parents with a "large caliber handgun" sometime between 10....

Putin plans to discuss North-South corridor with Iranian president

 MOSCOW:Russian President Vladimir Putin has said he plans to discuss the development of the North-South transport corridor with Iranian President Ebrahim Raisi on Thursday.  "One of the projects that we're going to discuss now with our guest, who has just arrived in Moscow, the Irani....

Somali army kills 33 al-Shabab militants in central region

 MOGADISHU:Somali National Army (SNA) backed by local forces on Thursday killed 33 al-Shabab militants and injured several others in a special operation near Harardhere town in central Somalia, officials said.  Deputy Minister of Information, Culture and Tourism Abdirahman Yusuf Al-Adala s....

Editor :
Jagadananda Pradhan
Email :
For Ads :
Ph : (+91)6764295999
Contact Us
© 2023 Fast Mail Media Pvt Ltd. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by : FM Media Pvt Ltd.
Developed by : Futuradept Tech